Purbalite Wins First-place Ranking for Sixth Consecutive Year

The results are in from the annual judging of student newspapers from the American Scholastic Press Association. The Purbalite earned a first-place award for the sixth-straight year.

The award is based on issues published in the 2016–17 school year. High-school papers are judged in 40 categories, then every paper is ranked in one of three categories: third place, second place, or first place.

High scores in this contest have been a Baldwin tradition, established by former newspaper sponsor Christine Kondrot.

Special recognition should be given to the 2016–17 editors: graduates Laura Harper, Bree Staley, Maggie Hines, Jack Hillgrove, Mike Silvestre, Emma Dowker, Andrea Henderson, Emilee Gruntz, Colton Hurley and Nick Romack, as well as current seniors Rebecca Case, Michaela Cavataio, Amanda Bruni, Zoe Vongtau, Taylor Donahue, Sarah Fader, and Elizabeth Solenday.