Clubs & Activities

Harrison Middle School provides many opportunities for students to develop beyond academics. Students may join the various clubs and activities at any time while they are being offered throughout the year. Transportation will not be provided for these activities.

Jazz Band

Jazz band is open to all students in grades 6-8. Students will rehearse and perform in two concerts. All students in Jazz Band are expected to play an instrument. Students will rehearse one afternoon a week. An attendance policy does exist. Students must be available for all performance dates to be part of Jazz Band.

Jazz Band Sponsor

Lindsay Verno, lverno@bwschools.net
Days and TimeWednesday 3:20 - 4:20 P.M.

Location Room 112

Musical Theater

Musical Theater is open to all students in grades 6-8. Students will rehearse and perform a musical. All students in the show will sing and dance. Selected students who audition will have speaking roles and leading roles. Students in band, chorus or orchestra will be given preference for leading roles. Students will mostly rehearse after school 2-4 days per week. Not all students will be called to all rehearsals but students must be available for all rehearsals from November thru March. An attendance policy does exist. Student must be available for all performance dates to be part of the musical.

Sponsor & Director

Assistant-Pit Orchestra

Kathy Hawk, khawk@bwschools.net

Lindsay Verno, lverno@bwschools.net
Days and Time

November-March: Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays:
3:20 - 5:00 or 5:30

Location Auditorium

Stage Crew

Stage crew members are responsible for the design and construction of the props and sets needed for the HMS Musical Theater Production. The stage crew will operate the curtains, audio mixer, stage lighting and special effects systems as well as performing set changes as needed during each show.

Sponsor

Dave London, dlondon@bwschools.net
Days and Time

Days will vary. 3:20 - 4:20 P.M.

Location

Room 118 & Auditorium

Student Council

Student Council is an organization that promotes school spirit and positive leadership. We plan activities school-wide that give our students a chance to enjoy the Harrison Middle School experience. We also develop leadership qualities that help our students throughout their lives.

Sponsor

Denise Wells, dwells@bwschools.net

Yevonne Carlson, ycarlson@bwschools.net

Days and Time

Days will vary. 3:20 - 4:20 P.M.

Location

Room 255

Dance Committee

The HMS Dance Committee will assist in the planning of the regularly scheduled school dances along with the 8th Grade Dance . The club will collaborate to select the activities, decorations, and the themes of each dance .

Sponsor

Melanie Fisher and Julie Willman, mfisher@bwschools.net & jwillman@bwschools.net
Days and Time

Days will vary. 3:20 - 4:20 P.M.

Location

Room 211

Yearbook

The yearbook club consists of 6th, 7th and 8th grade students working together to design, create, sell and distribute the 2015 yearbook. Students will have the opportunity to take digital photos of sports, activities, and candid pictures both during and after school. Students will also upload the pictures using an online program to design the yearbook pages. The yearbook staff will also be in charge of organizing the sale and distribution of the yearbook.

Sponsor

Heather Bianchi, hbianchi@bwschools.net
Days and Time

Tuesdays. 3:20 - 4:20 P.M.

Location

Room 209

Any parents who would like to submit candid or team pictures of fall/winter sports; volleyball, soccer, inline hockey, ice hockey, cross country, swimming, football and cheerleading, please e-mail the photos to hbianchi@bwschools.net.